Their blues-influenced, grittier edge set TESLA apart from the bands that littered the hard rock landscape from the late '80s to the early '90s. The Great Radio Controversy is arguably their best album, with enough hooks to catch the listener, and good, solid songwriting.

Songs like "Heaven's Trail (No Way Out)," "Flight to Nowhere," and "Party's Over" show that TESLA is at their best when tackling anthems; by avoiding the overblown riffs and musical posturing of their peers, they keep these songs from sounding pretentious. Likewise, "Love Song" lives up to its title, a straightforward ballad that doesn't drip with treacle the way most hard rock power ballads do.

- Genevieve Williams

Tesla - The Great Radio Controversy (CD)

 $15.99  $11.99 
Available Options:


  1. Hang Tough
  2. Lady Luck
  3. Heaven's Trail (No Way Out)
  4. Be a Man
  5. Lazy Days, Crazy Nights
  6. Did It for the Money
  7. Yesterdaze Gone
  8. Makin' Magic
  9. Way It Is
  10. Flight to Nowhere
  11. Love Song
  12. Paradise
  13. Party's Over